waste free day to day DIY products

The more I look into the effect that each person has on the earth the more I notice commonalities in the habits that we are all making. If you are a person with at least halfway decent personal hygiene then you would at least have soap and toothpaste. And for those that pride themselves on their hygiene rituals then you have much more in your arsenal. But after plenty of research, I’ve learned that many of these day to day products could be made at home in bulk or in small batches as needed.

Like toothpaste, you can spend between 4-8 dollars per tube and they last well enough but there is a way to pay less than a dollar for just about the same amount of product, comparatively. All you need is BAKING SODA! Of course, you can add flavoring through essential oils like peppermint.

Baking soda is really just like the holy grail of DIY and can be used for so so so many things for beauty and household cleaning.

I have yet to start making my own products in any sense except for a body scrub recipe I’m experimenting with but right now I’m using up all the products I have the plan is not to re-buy or restock on any of it.

I have looked into the history of soap and I realized how easily I could of start making my own and I could possibly do in the most all-natural way. I love in an area of the Navajo reservation where wood stoves are the main and only source of heat in the winter. From the ashes, a type of chemical can be extracted, and combine that with a type of oil or fat, and you have the beginnings of soap! There is just so much information on soap making that I’ll make a post of its own on that, I’ll maybe even try to document my progress on it.

I think that just goes for most of the projects or plans that I have for the future. Right now I’m just so busy with mom duties that I can’t have much focus on anything but my son. But I will try to at least put out a bit of writing each day.

4 thoughts on “waste free day to day DIY products”

  1. Lye, the main ingredient in soap, is leached from wood. How, I have no idea. Definitely do research on soapmaking first. I want to start to, but I am going with melt-and-pour for now, since I don’t have the space for a real set up.

    Like

    1. Well its actually taken from the ashes of hard wood, you just have to continuously strain it and then after about 3-5 straining session you can either boil it down to the lye crystals and there you have it. If you don’t want to boil it down then you can get a device that measures ph and lye is an alkaline so just find the right level that way! Hope that helps!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

